News & Results

IC of France

IC of France

6th - 7th October 2018

Result: IC of GB 17 – IC of France 19
Venue: AELTC (Sat) and LTA National Tennis Centre (Sun)

The GB team narrowly lost 19-17 on home turf in the bi-annual fixture against the travelling French team.  It was an exceptional weekend with a record number of matches played.


On Saturday, the match was held on the indoor courts at the AELTC and the tennis was followed by dinner in the Rolex Suite, with amusing speeches from Mark Beim, Benson Greatrex and the French team captain, Heiner Tadault.


The LTA kindly allowed us to host the second day of play at the National Tennis Centre in Roehampton.  Both venues proved a success and the hospitality offered was warmly received by all.


It was a weekend to remember and in the words of IC Captain, Mark Beim, “It was one of the best matches played against the IC of France in recent years!”.


Results (IC of GB players listed first)

Captain: Mark Beim

Saturday 6th October
Pippa Horn beat Marie Ambroise 1-6 6-4 [10-7]
Katie O'Brien beat Laure Eline Faure 6-1 6-1
Sean Thornley lost to Lionel Mansour 6-1 6-1
Steph Cornish lost to Mathilde Cor 4-4 6-2 [11-9]
Miles Maclagan lost to Elie Rousset 6-3 6-4
Jo Shepherd lost to Olivia Fery 7-5 6-1
Teresa Catlin beat Sophie Didelot 6-1 6-0
Andy Burgoyne beat Heiner Tadault 6-3 6-4
Mark Beim lost to Ludwig Pellerin 6-4 6-4
Pippa Horn & Freya lost to Marie Ambroise & Laure Eline Faure 6-4 7-6
Chris Hearn beat Chris Bernelle 7-6 6-3
Robin Drysdale lost Bruno Delorme 6-2 6-2
Sean Thornley & Steph Cornish beat Lionel Mansour & Mathilde Cor 6-3 7-6
Barry Fulcher lost to Lionel Mansour 7-6 6-4
Mark Cox beat Christophe Cochet 6-2 6-2
Mike Dawe lost to Jerome Vanier 6-0 6-0
Mark Beim & Andrew Burgoyne lost to Ludwig Pellerin & Heiner Tadault 3-6 6-3 [10-8]
Jo Shepherd & Teresa Catlin beat Olivia Fery & Sophie Didelot 6-1 6-2

Sunday 7th October
Amanda Elliott beat Marie Ambroise 4-6 6-1 [10-6]
Pipa Horn lost to Laure Eline Faure 6-0 6-4
James Marsalek beat Ludwig Pellerin 7-6 6-4
Susie Dart lost to Olivia Fery 6-0 6-0
Katie O'Brien beat Mathilde Cor 6-1 6-1
Tim Sagar lost to Lionel Mansour 3-6 7-5 [10-6]
Jo Shepherd beat Sophie Didelot 6-3 6-0
Mark Cox lost to Bruno Delorme 6-0 6-1
Paul Scullard beat Jerome Vanier 6-3 7-6
Andy Burgoyne lost to Ludwig Pellerin 6-0 6-3
Mark Beim lost to Heiner Tadault 6-1 4-6 [10-7]
Henk Nijeboer beat Christophe Cochet 6-1 6-0
Graham Neale lost to Christophe Bernelle 6-4 2-6 [15-13]
Susie Dart & Pippa Horn lost to Olivia Fery & Laure Eline Faure 6-2 6-3
Jo Shepherd & Amanda Elliott beat Marie Ambroise & Sophie Didelot 6-2 6-3
Henk Nijeboer & Mark Cox beat Jerome Vanier & Christophe Cochet 7-6 1-0 Rtd
Tim Sagar & Katie O'Brien beat Hiener Tadault & Mathilde Cor 6-2 6-2
Mark Beim & Andy Burgoyne lost to Lionel Mansour & Ludwig Pellerin 4-6 6-3 [10-3]

Previous Article Puente Romano
Next Article IC Tennis / Golf

Archived News & Results

To view older news articles please visit the archived news page