Archived News & Results



Match Result: IC of GB 4 – 7 IC of Slovenia
Date: Wednesday 5th August 2015
Venue: Edgbaston Priory

The Slovenian team led by Andrew Page, Bruno Nikolic and Marko Maklar arrived on Tuesday 4th August and were welcomed with a dinner at Edgbaston Priory Club.

Matches started at 11am on Wednesday morning with GB taking a 3-0 lead before lunch. However, the British team only won one match during afternoon play and with the final result 7-4 in favour of Slovenia.

After a tough day of tennis, the day finished with a drinks reception followed by a dinner party attended by both David Waite (Chairman) and Barry Weatherill (President). During dinner, David Waite and Marko Mlakar (President/Chairman) of the IC Slovenia made speeches and honorary memberships and gifts were exchanged.

Results (IC of GB players are listed first)
Lucy Wood beat Karin Lusnic 6-2 7-5
Lewis Barnes beat Bruno Nikolic 6-0 6-0
Phil King beat Marko Mlakar 2-6 7-6 [10-5]
Andrew Page lost to Gregor Franolic 3-6 2-6
Derek Bradshaw lost to Saso Arsenovic 1-6 2-6
Felipe Bunster Galeno lost to Nikola Maljkovic 3-6 0-6
Lucy Wood & Felipe Bunster beat Karin Lusnic & Marko Mlakar 6-2 6-4
David Waite & Alan Purnell lost to Saso Arsenovic & Klemen Strazar 0-6 1-6
Phil King & Lewis Barnes lost to Bruno Nikolic & Nikola Maljkovic 4-6 3-6
Andrew Page & David Waite lost to Gregor Franolic & Saso Arsenovic 1-6 2-6
Derek Bradshaw & Mick Webb lost to Marko Mlakar & Nikola Maljkovic 4-6 1-6