Archived News & Results



Danes too tough...
Result: IC of GB 8 – 13 IC of Denmark
Event Date: Friday 26th – Sunday 28th September 2014

Anne Clark, Niall Sweeney, David Waite, Tim Phillips, Mike Carroll, Chris Clark and David Collins represented the IC of GB against a strong IC of Denmark team, which included a member of their Davis Cup squad. Although Anne Clark won all of her matches without conceding a set, the Danes secured the overall match by 13 rubbers to 8 on clay courts at the Rungsted Tennis Club just outside Copenhagen.

The hospitality of our hosts was first class and a special thank you goes to Mikael and Kristine Bernhoft who organised a very enjoyable welcome party at their wonderful house on the Friday night, followed by the official evening at a spectacular restaurant by the sea with great views and excellent food/wine.

Hans Peter Michaelsen was invited to become an Honorary Member of the IC of GB and the IC of Denmark reciprocated by making Anne Clark an Honorary Member of the IC of Denmark.

Chris Clark (GBR) lost to Søren Wedeke (DEN) 4-6 0-6

David Collins (GBR) lost to Carsten Gildum (DEN) 3-6 2-6

Anne Clark (GBR) beat Birgit Hoffmeyer (DEN) 6-1 6-0

Mike Carroll & David Waite (GBR) lost to Kasper Rud & Tom Christensen (DEN) 1-6 2-6
Carole Siviter & Tim Philips (GBR) lost to Birgit Carlsen & Jørn Harder (DEN) 2-6 1-6
Philip Siviter (GBR) beat Peter Holst (DEN) 3-6 7-5 (11-9)

Niall Sweeney (GBR) beat H.P. Michaelsen (DEN) 6-3 6-2

Tim Philips & David Waite (GBR) lost to Bjørn Bech & Bent Ingevold (DEN) 1-6 6-4 (9-11)

Anne Clark & Carole Siviter (GBR) beat Birgit Carlsen & Birgitte Hostrup (DEN) 603 6-0

Chris Clark & David Collins (GBR) lost to Søren Wedeke & Carsten Gildum (DEN) 5-7 2-6

Niall Sweeney & Philip Siviter (GBR) beat Jørn Harder & Kasper Rud (DEN) 6-2 3-6 (10-8)

Anne Clark & Tim Philips (GBR) beat Birgit Hoffmeyer & Bent Ingevold (DEN) 6-2 7-5

Chris Clark (GBR) lost to Carsten Gildum (DEN) 4-6 3-6

David Collins (GBR) lost to Søren Wedeke (DEN) 0-6 2-6

Anne Clark (GBR) beat Birgitte Hostrup (DEN) 6-3 6-2

Philip Siviter (GBR) lost to Kasper Rud (DEN) 2-6 6-4 (7-10)

Niall Sweeney (GBR) lost to Peter Holst (DEN) 5-7 6-4 (8-10)

Mike Carroll & Tim Philips lost to Jørn Harder & Bjørn Bech (DEN) 2-6 4-6

David Waite & Tim Philips lost to Jens Hertz & Bent Ingevold 1-6 4-6

David Collins & Philip Siviter beat H.P. Michaelsen & Søren Wedeke 6-2 7-6

Carole Siviter & David Waite lost to Birgit Carlsen & Bent Ingevold 1-6 3-6

Next Article IC OF FRANCE