Archived News & Results



The International Lawn Tennis Club (IC) of Great Britain beat the IC of France by 27 to 24 in the 150th match played between the two international clubs since 1929.
The IC of Great Britain was founded in 1924 and is the oldest of the 38 ICs worldwide. The French IC followed in 1929 and that was also the year of the first match between the two oldest ICs in the world. With the exception of the World War years the two clubs have played each other twice each year with one match in France and one in Great Britain.
The matches were played over two days. The first one was held on the beautiful grass courts of Edgbaston Priory in Birmingham on Wednesday 16 June which ended in a handsome victory for the French. It was particularly the strength of the French men which determined the outcome as they conceded only one match.
In the second match which was held at the scenic St. George’s Hill Lawn Tennis Club in Weybridge, again on grass, the Brits were able to win enough matches to steer the overall result to their advantage.
The ages of the female and male participants in both events ranged from juniors to over 65 with the matches being of excellent quality and played in a good spirit.
During dinner on the last evening the President of the IC of France, Pierre Darmon, thanked the IC of GB for their hospitality.

The photos show players and partners at the official dinner after the match at St.George’s Hill and players in one of the doubles matches from left to right Geoff Newton (GB) , Mark Cox (GB), Michel Bouzigues (France) and Michel Leclercq (Captain of the French team).  

IC of GB v IC of France 150th fixture held at Edgbaston Priory Club June 16th 2010

Our 150th fixture against the IC of France was held at two venues, the first being Edgbaston Priory Club, Birmingham on June 16th and the second at St Georges Weybridge on June 18th
At Edgbaston Priory we were very fortunate in having glorious weather all day long and played an incredible 27 matches during the day on some excellent grass courts. The IC of France arrived with a very strong team and in most age groups had some of their best national players.
The IC of Great Britain had three new younger Ladies making their debut in Manisha Foster, Luisa Cowper and Hannah James and very good performances was put up by all of them, we are sure they could be a good asset to the IC of GB membership in future years.
The French were the winners on the day with a margin of 16-11 at close of play which was followed by a drinks reception and official dinner in the evening.
David Waite(IC of GB chairman) presented to Pierre Darmon(President of the IC of France) a silver engraved salva in recognition of the special fixture between the two countries, at the dinner.
My thanks go to Peter Mockridge and Ann Dawes who kindly hosted the welcome party at Peter’s house on the Tuesday evening and a special thank you once again to the Edgbaston Priory Club who allowed the IC of GB to use their marvellous facilities.
Philip Siviter

Order of play IC of GB v IC of France    
Edgbaston Priory June 16th 2010    
Chloe Paquet v Manisha Foster France 0-6,6-4,10-2
Marie Bahu v Hannah James GB 6-2 6-1
Isabelle Crudo v Katie Shaw GB 6-2 6-2
Jean-Claude Bonhomme v John Howarth France 7-5 6-0
Michel Leclercq v Alan Purnell France 6-0 6-1
Michel Bouzigues v Alec Davidson France 7-5 6-3
12 noon      
Heiner Tadault v Mark Beim France 6-3 6-2
Olivier Cayla v Seb Jackson France 4-6 7-6 10-8
Christophe Bernelle v Bill Gowans France 6-3 6-2
Francoise Achard v Dee Oakley France 6-2 6-2
Rosy Darmom v Shirley Fox GB 6-3 6-4
Benedicte Le Grand v Lorraine Ristic GB 6-7 6-1 12-10
Frederic Dewaegeneire v Boyd Cuthbertson France 6-0 6-1
Bruno Delorme v Philip Siviter France 6-1 6-1
Jacques Thamin v Benson Greatrex France 6-3 6-4
Virginie Gignac v Luisa Cowper GB 4-6 6-3 10-3
Emmanuelle Derly-Michaund v Leyla Ogan France 6-4 6-3
Maylis Burel v Jenny Waggott GB 6-3 6-1
Tadault/Cayla v Beim/Gowans GB 6-4 6-4
Bernelle/Dewaegeneire v Cuthbertson/Siviter France 6-4 7-5
Delorme/Thamin v Howarth/Greatrex France 6-4 6-0
Paquet/Bahu v James/Cowper GB 6-2 6-2
Achard/Le Grand v Oakley/Waggott France 6-1 6-4
Darmon/Crudo v Ristic/Fox GB 3-6 6-1 10-7
Bonhomme/Leclercq v Davidson/Purnell France 6-4 7-6
Gignac/Michaund v Shaw/Ogan GB 6-1 6-3
Burel/Bouzigues v Liz Litherland/Guy Litherland GB 6-4 6-4
IC of France 16 IC of GB 11      


IC of Great Britain v IC of France
Friday 18th June 2010 at St George’s Hill LTC
Overall Match result
GB 16 France 8
Other Comments on the match
A two day event celebrating the 150th match between the 2 original IC Clubs and incorporating a day at Edgbaston Priory for the Jean Borotra Cup won by GB 27 to 24.

IC of GB Player
Opposition Players
Win / Loss
Katy Dunne
Chloe Pacquet
6.3, 4.6, 10.8
Graham Neale
Christphe Bernelle
7.6, 6.7, 19.17
Christine French
Isabelle Crudo
6.2, 6.3
Keith Bland
Jean-Claude Bonhomme
6.0, 6.7, 10.7
Sue Hill
Rosy Darmon
6.0, 7.6
Leona Finkelstein
Emmanelle Derly-M
1.6, 1.6
Stephanie Cornish
Virginie Gignac
6.3, 6.4
Mark Cox
Michel Leclercq
6.2, 7.5
Anthea Stewart
Benedicte Le Grand
6.3, 7.5
Paul French
Bruno Delorme
6.4, 6.1
Penny Sheehan
Francoise Achard
6.3, 7.5
Clive Hutchings
Michel Bouzigues
7.6, 5.7, 10.8
Toni Thompson
Maylis Burel
0.6, 2.6
Nick Fulwood
Olivier Cayla
2.6, 3.6
Bill Gowans
Jacques Thamin
6.1, 6.0
Gary Stewart
Frederic Dewaegenaire
2.6, 1.6

IC of Great Britain v IC of France
18th June 2010   -   continued page 2 of 2
Overall Match result
Other Comments on the match
IC of GB Player
Opposition Players
Win / Loss
S. Hill & D.Oakley
F.Achard & M.Burel
6.2, 6.0
C.French & A.Stewart
E.Derly & I.Crudo
6.1, 7.6
N.Fulwood & G.Neale
O.Cayla & H.Tadault
2.6, 6.7
P.Sheehan &T.Thompson
M.Bahu & B.LeGrand
0.6, 2.6
P.French & K.Bland
B.Delorme & F.Dewaegenaire
5.7, 0.6
M.Cox & G.Newton
M.Leclercq & M.Bouzigues
6.4, 3.6, 5.10
A.Ambrose & G.Stewart
C.Pacquet & J.Thamin
6.2, 6.3
V.Brook & S.Cornish
C.Pacquet & V.Gignac
6.2, 6.3