Archived News & Results


John Dunningham Trophy – IC of GB Vs. LTA juniors

John Dunningham, one of our Vice Presidents, has always supported junior tennis players and indeed encouraged their participation in our overseas matches. In recognition of this there will now be an annual match between the IC of GB and LTA juniors playing for the “John Dunningham Trophy”. 
The match format is 4 men and 4 ladies in each team. Each player will play a singles and then combine with a partner to play a doubles.
The inaugural match was held on Sunday 15th November at the National Tennis Centre (NTC) and started at 10.00 am. 
At the conclusion of the match Jeremy Bates, the IC of GB captain, made special mention of the very high standard of tennis and friendly spirit in which the match was played. He thanked the LTA for their hospitality and said that the NTC  was a perfect venue for spectators to view the match. Finally, Jeremy thanked the IC of GB players for playing in the inaugural match.
Jeremy then introduced John Dunningham who presented the “John Dunningham Trophy” to Helen Reesby (the LTA ladies Captain). Colin Beecher captained the LTA Mens team.
The results are as follows: 
(IC of GB names first)
Mens Singles
James Auckland lost to James Marsalek 6/3 2/6 (8-10)
Andrew Kennaugh lost to Jack Carpenter 1/6 2/6
Mark Beim lost to George Morgan 4/6 6/4 (2-10)
Ollie Freelove lost to Lewis Burton 6/7 6/7
Ladies Singles
Karen Paterson lost to Fracesca Stephenson 2/6 5/7
Lizzie Jelfs lost to Joanna Henderson 6/7 0/6
Ali Napier lost to Ruth Seabourne 5/7 3/6
Abigail Tordoff lost to Katy Dunne 1/6 5/7
Mens Doubles
Auckland & Kennaugh beat Marsalek & Carpenter 3/6 7/6 (10-1)
Beim & Freelove lost to Morgan & Burton 4/6 6/4 (10-12)
Ladies Doubles
Paterson & Napier Beat Stephenson & Henderson 6/4 5/7 (10-4)
Jelfs & Tordoff lost to Seabourne & Dunne 2/6 2/6
Overall Result   

LTA 10   IC of GB 2